Workzone Commands

Error message

Deprecated function: The each() function is deprecated. This message will be suppressed on further calls in book_prev() (line 775 of /home/caduiiga/public_html/modules/book/book.module).

Commands related to Workzones:

  • WS      Workzone Save (Modelspace)
  • WR      Workzone Restore (Modelspace).
  • WR      Workzone Resolve (Paperspace), 

Terminology:

Layerstate:

Layer conditions of On, Off, Freeze and Thaw, Lock etc.

Workzone:

Not to be confused with AutoCAD's concept of Zones as described in Autodesk Knowledge Network that describe defined spaces in a building as though they are a collection of drawing objects.

AutoCAD Workzone concept introduced in later versions was found to be poorly understood and ill used and has subsequently been discontinued from the menu system but it can still be executed from the keyboard.  .

The ACADUI Workzone command is in some respects similar since it manages Layerstate, Viewpoint and UCS but does not define a specific space such as a room in a building. It does however have several other benefits related to its integration with other automated ACADUI layer functions.  Its primary function is in filtering and arranging drawing objects for viewing and plotting.  Difficult to explain without reference to the entire suite of layer commands.  Best to try it to find out exactly how it works.

Resolve:          

Freshly Freezes and Thaws the current layer set to display a single Workzone.  This command processes all layers including those newly created since the last Resolve or Layerstate Save but ignores View and UCS.  Used in Tilemode 1 (Modelspace) or Tilemode 0 (in an active Modelspace Viewport).

Restore:

If used in Tilemode 0 in an active Modelspace Viewport (Modelspace) it will Restore a previously saved Workzone. If used in Tilemode 1 (Modelspace) it will Restore a Workzone (Layerstate, View and UCS combination).

Thus:

  • LR, LR+ and LR- apply only to Layers and Modelspace and do not affect View or UCS.
  • WS Saves the current layer state, view and UCS.  Can be any combination of layers.
    • If in Tilemode 1 the current Modelspace Workzone will be saved.          
    • If in Tilemode 0 in an active Modelspace Viewport a Workzone relevant to the Viewport will be saved.
  • WR when in Paperspace means Workzone Resolve.
  • WR when in Modelspace a named Workzone is Restored.

Typical uses:

  • LR, LR+ and LR- are used in Modelspace to view and edit Workzones.
  • WS is similar to LS but also saves the current View and UCS.
  • WR is used in Paperspace Layouts to automatically Resolve selected Viewports VPLAYER conditions prior to plotting.
  • WR is used in Modelspace to Restore a previously saved Workzone.

Let’s explain those L commands again:

LR

LR resolves layer visibility by freezing and thawing layers to display a particular Workzone. This is useful for viewing, editing and plotting a single Workzone.

LR+

LR+ is similar to LR except that the new Workzone is added to the existing rather than resolving a fresh Workzone.  This is useful for comparing two or more Workzones of the same model for alignment and content.

LR-

LR- is similar to LR+ except that the new Workzone is removed from an existing combination of Workzones.  This is useful for adjusting a combination of three or more Workzones when you don’t want to use LR to resolve the model back to a single Workzone.

LS

LS is unrelated to ACADUI Workzones.  It’s just a convenient way of saving a named AutoCAD Layerstate.  Handy if you want to save a particular combination of layers for some reason.

Other useful related commands:

C@

C@  Copy-at to make a coincident copy of selected objects while changing the layers of the new objects to a specified level (e.g. on a different floor level).

GFI

GFI chanGe Field ID changes the ID of selected objects. (In architecture ID may indicate floor level).

N

New when used as a selection option to the GFI command will collect the New objects just created and change them to another ID.

Practical application Tilemode 1:

WS

Save a Workzone in Modelspace. 

Below is the file Cranford from the Previous exercise – a combination of GP01 and GP02.  You might wish to save this in order to return to it quickly.

Command:

Press WS <enter>

Found Workzones: DUM  plan1&2  elev2  elev3

Enter Modelspace Workzone name:

Note the listing of existing Workzone names.  Choose a new name or re-use an existing.

WR

Restore a Workzone in Modelspace. 

Turn off some layers.  Zoom and Pan a bit.

Command:

Press WR <enter>

Found Workzones: DUM  north-elev-5  east-elev-6  plan1+plan2  EM  wr
Enter Modelspace Workzone name to Restore:

Note the listing of existing Workzone names.  Enter an existing name.

Note the return to the previously saved state.

Practical application Tilemode 0:

Command:

Press F11 to switch to Tilemode 0

Command:

Press ZE <enter

Command:

Press F12 to activate a Viewport.

Save the Modelspace Workzone in the active Viewport.

Press WS <enter>

Note that the current Viewport number is appended to the name you entered.  This is to distinguish this Workzone from Tilemode 1 Workzones.  Thus you can save and restore individual floating Viewport Workzones separately from the Tilemode 1 Modelspace Workzones.  Useful if you wish to view, edit or plot in/from Tilemode 0 a particular Layerstate and view other than a standard single Workzone.

Press WR <enter> to Restore a saved Workzone in an active Viewport.  Enter the name of a saved Workzone.  Do not include the appended Viewport number.

Press F11 to reactivate Tilemode 0.

Press WR <enter> and select the previous Viewport to Resolve the layers to a single Workzone.